villada.blogg.se

Blown away crossword
Blown away crossword






However, the first themer, WELL EXCUSE ME, is such a sassy phrase and perfectly obscures Lexus with precisely one intervening letter that my disappointment did a 180. Normally that would spoil a solve for me, as I prefer to have to work a little to grok a theme. I guessed the theme as soon as I read the title and observed the circled letters with splits in them. = WEL L EXC USE ME (“Lexus” is split by the “c” in “car parts”) Times crossword solution for 03/26/23 – “Split a Ride” by Dylan Schiff and Matthew Stock The inserted letters spell out “car parts.” Theme entries contain the name of a car make with one extra letter inserted so they appear split into two parts. Times crossword, “Split a Ride” - Jack’s write-up I hope you’re well and that you have a great end to your weekend! For those of you headed to ACPT next weekend, have the best time ever!ĭylan Schiff & Matthew Stock’s L.A. – for PANTHER was a nice double pop culture moment!

#Blown away crossword tv

– This puzzle had some fun entries – EGIRL, DOG SPAS, EARGASM, TREKKIE, REALITY TV – to balance out some rougher ones like GIGIO and ENIAC. It’s small things like this that stick out to queer solvers like me in a major way. This clue could have easily referred to “the average American couple” and assumed straight, but it qualified the clue to acknowledge non-straight relationships. – Major kudos for the cluing for AGE GAP at 73D. Still, this was a quick, fun solve without any major slog areas. I think if all of the themers had been as strong as my two favorites, it would have elevated this puzzle even more. I’d also argue that anytime “ones” has to be used as part of a themer phrase (likely to make it the right length), it feels forced and not in the language (at least to me – YMMV). If the base phrase feels fusty, I think it’s a tough sell to find a transformation that is going to be joyful to the solver. Some of the themers felt quite creative and made me smile ( PIERCING SHREK, FIVE PILLARS OF SLAM), but gosh did some of the themers feel boring ( CERTIFICATE OF CLAM, PICKING ONES BRAN).

blown away crossword

(For those of you stumped on the theme, each themer’s base phrase has three I’s, with the third one being removed to end up with these wacky answers.) Knowing the revealer and noting that the puzzle’s title was missing its third “I,” made for a pretty quick solve. Sometimes I sneak down to where I think the revealer will be to see if I can drop that in as a way to short circuit the puzzle, and boy did this child of the 90’s plunk in THIRD EYE BLIND without hesitating. 23A: PIERCING SHREK ģ1A: ORIGIN STORES ĥ2A: FIVE PILLARS OF SLAM Ħ8A: PICKING ONES BRAN Ĩ7A: CERTIFICATE OF CLAM ġ04A: SPITTING MAGE ġ19A: THIRD EYE BLIND






Blown away crossword